William L Ivarson Jr Senior Profile: Braydan Gaffin Senior Profile: Ethan Pennywitt Senior Center spreading Christmas cheer Stout named Administrator of Monarch Meadows Richard Francis Frank B Young William Scaff Gregory A Silvia Jr Davis now the winningest coach in Lady Devils basketball history Clutch plays give Green Devils OT win Eighth grade Greyhounds go on the road, grab 55-41 conference win at Whiteoak Lady Indians can’t hang on, fall to Eastern Brown Indians open up with big Homecoming win Greyhounds drilled by Fairfield in season opener How to sell 94 losses NAES leads local schools represented at PBIS Showcase PHS Beta Club recognized as National School of Distinction MES wins Momentum Award for second year running Fire destroys Winchester business Martha Becraft Cynthia A Sopher Clarys Holliday Basketball Special: 2017-18 Justice girls lead Peebles to win over Felicity Senior Profile: Adison Wright Lady Dragons slain by buzzer-beater Freshmen double-doubles lead Lady Hounds to win in opener County mourns passing of OVSD Board member Tom Reed Peebles man arrested in connection with woman’s disappearance Leaving a written legacy Not really ready to go back to pioneer days Peebles Jr./Sr. High School awarded PBIS Bronze Award North Adams High School named National Beta School of Distinction Operation Christmas Child collects 1,867 boxes Samantha Jameson honored as Young Professional of the Year Youth Deer Season again plagued by bad weather Humane Society hosting Ugly Christmas Sweater contest Dec. 9 Local centenarian celebrates birthday number 100 with family and friends Jerry R Pratt Edward Lykins Jr NAES students focus on spreading kindness Leland P Sautter Kelly B Anderson Dorothy Grooms Sharon D Brumley Anna J Grooms Local student/athletes awarded Wendy’s Heisman Awards Lady Devils JV triumph in opener Senior Profile: Colten Ball Peebles hosts SHAC Boys Preview Lady Devils fall in tough opener Janet A Pedicord Nettie R Fleshman Senior Profile: Sianna Mills North Adams boys ride the ‘3’ train to victory Lady Devils trounce Georgetown Senior Profile: Austin Stamper North Adams’ Williams named OIAAA Administrator of the Year County hoops squads on display in SHAC Girls Preview Going off the grid Michael L Chamblin A newer, kinder county pound takes a more humane approach TAG students are winners at Invention Convention Adams County Florist decks the halls Thomas J Reed Shirley A Stiffler Sharon G Wright Lottie J Meade June R Williams Lions and Cowboys and no Bengals, thankfully Senior Profile: Tyler Horsley North Adams sweeps Manchester Cheer Championships Indians face tough test in first pre-season scrimmage Senior Profile: Abby Faulkner Seas reflects on second state tournament experience NA’s Harper signs to continue hoops career at Rio Grande Hendrickson named Assistant Coach of the Year in Division III girls soccer Take the hint, it’s Thanksgiving time again Small Business Saturday in Adams County Art Council’s newest production will have you ‘laughing through your tears’ North Adams students working to help the homeless Grateful Richard A Graham #SawyerStrong Billy L Smalley With some help from Adams County, Ohio Statehouse now has wheelchair charging station Wenstrup announces re-election campaign Delta Dental provides two local schools with new drinking fountains Ernie McFarland honored by Ohio Bankers League Veterans Day parade, ceremony held in West Union Adams County schools celebrate Veterans Day Being the change November: As Mr. Seas it Protecting Ohio seniors from rising healthcare costs It’s November-have some soup and pie SHAC Boys Preview is Nov. 24 at Peebles June Hall Alice B Himes Claudia U Mitchell

With some help from Adams County, Ohio Statehouse now has wheelchair charging station

By Mark Carpenter – 

It was another historic day for the Ohio Statehouse on Nov. 16 as Ohio became the second state to install a wheelchair charging station in the Map Room of the Statehouse.  The station was unveiled in ceremonies hosted by the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board (CSRAB), with plans for another charging station to be added in the near future.
Gifted from the Adams County Health and Wellness Coalition and the Adams County Medical Foundation, this project was under the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors Grant “Reaching People With Disabilities Through Healthy Communities”.
Adams County has six charging stations already installed and is looking at installing more.
“The Board sees these charging stations as a way to provide a more inclusive environment for the citizens of Ohio to access their government, said CSRAB Chairman Senator Bob Peterson in a statehouse press release.  “We are grateful for the support and leadership that the NACDD and the Adams County Health and Wellness Coalition has provided for this project.
On hand for the dedication ceremony were: Adams County Commissioner Ty Pell; DD Superintendent and Grant Partner Coach Lizabeth Lafferty; Lavonne McCoy, Lead Coach; Debbie Ryan, Coalition Representative; Dr. Sherry Stout, Director- Medical Foundation; Dane Clark, GE Aviation PTO; Stephen Caraway, Governor Kasich Liaison; Dr. John Martin, Director of Ohio Department of DD; Dan Mitchell, CEO Venture Productions; Melinda Horsley, Business Manager DD; Jason Francois, Board Member DD; Karma Harris, NACDD; David Ellsworth, The OSU Nisonger Center and Ohio Department of Health; Senator Bob Peterson; Senator Joe Uecker; Laura Battocletti, Statehouse Facility Staff; Jim Wasil, Lt. Governor Representative; TJ McClellan, COOL Board Member; and Jeff Barr, Venture Productions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© The People's Defender - All rights reserved