Last updated: May 30. 2014 10:09AM - 376 Views
By PAUL HANNAH phannah@civitasmedia.com

North Adams fourth through sixth grade students were recognized by receiving the President's Educational Award of Excellence
North Adams fourth through sixth grade students were recognized by receiving the President's Educational Award of Excellence
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Adams County School Board held their last meeting during the regular school year on Thursday, May 22 at the Peebles Elementary School. The meeting was quite eventful with numerous students being recognized, a presentation by Energy Optimizers USA, and citizens speaking before the board.

The ACOV Board tries to recognize a person or group for their efforts at every board meeting. This meeting saw students from the fourth through sixth grades receive the President’s Educational Award of Excellence. To be eligible for the award, a student must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher, and must either have a proficient score on the state tests or be nominated by a teacher and one other staff member.

Each elementary school’s students were recognized in turn, and the entire cafeteria area was full of proud parents and relatives, watching their children be recognized for their accomplishments.

The presentation offered at the meeting was given by Energy Optimizers, USA. The company has been contracted by the school board to improve the energy outlays made by the school.

The project will be funded through a new piece of legislation moving through the Ohio Assembly - HB 264- which allows schools to borrow funds in order to implement an energy savings project without needing to use a bond or pass a levy. The legislation requires that the energy savings be high enough to pay for the loan, the project is reviewed by the state, and the savings must be regularly reported during the life of the project.

The current project plan will replace the lighting inside and outside the school with energy-efficient LEDs. The Ohio Valley Career and Technical Center will have their old fuel oil boiler replaced with a propane boiler with advanced control systems to run the boiler in the most efficient manner possible. Finally, a solar panel field will be constructed between the OVCTC and state Route 125.

The solar panels aren’t being placed on the roof, as it places additional weight on the structure, and it makes it hard to work on the roof for any reason. Should the field that is being occupied by the solar panels be needed for a new facility, the panels are easy to move. The OVCTC is receiving the most work, because it is the most energy inefficient building in the school district with the new elementary schools being the most efficient.

Energy Optimizers, USA guarantees the savings on this project, projecting total of $259,330 saved annually in energy costs with the loan payments projected at $205,598 for a total of $53,732 additional savings. When asked about using geothermal for the OVCTC, Energy Optimizers stated that it was not the ideal solution for the structure as the costs and location were not optimal.

The project is slated to begin in August with the plan being submitted to the state for approval on June 23. A completion date of February 2015 is expected.

Turning to the business of the school board, it is the time of year for turn-over in staffing. Nathaniel Doolos, Paul McDonald, Tad Mitchell, Cynthia Myers, Rebecca Perin, Wilma Simmers, and Sonja Winchester resigned or will be resigning during the summer. Kathy Pryor will be retiring.

The following administrative contracts were accepted by the school board: Amanda Lamb, Elementary Principal; Tad Mitchell, Career and Technical Program Supervisor; Larry Shiveley, Assistant Principal; Lisa Toole, Curriculum Supervisor; Jason Vesey, Career and Technical Program Director; and Matt Young, High School Principal.

The following certified contracts were accepted by te school board: Laura Applegate, Liberty Joy Armstrong, Brett Michael Beucler, Stacy Camp, Chasity Chamblin, J. Allan Crump, Tabitha Duffey, Adriann Emerson, Michael Felts, Michael Germann, Abigail Helterbrand, Ashley Holsinger, Jessica Rae Johnson, Lindsey Krauss, Brady Liming, Rachel Meyer, Catherine Miller, Ammon Mitchell, Michael ‘Todd’ Mitchell, Ryan Mitchell, Monica Music, Jessica Dawn Perin, Brittany Nicole Pryor, Ryen Shiveley, Scott Thatcher, Brittany Whalen, Helen White, Courtney Wilson, Melisa Blythe, Stephanie Davis, Jeffrey Fryman, Brent harper, Stacy McCann, Ty Stephens, D. Isaac Wooten, Shay Beighle, Mary Dettwiller, Amy Beth Hoop, Sean Inman, Jessica Kremin, Aaron McCann, Tiffany McAdams, Susan Meyers, Kristi Roads, Carl R. Schneider, Nancy J. Schneider, Shaleen Weisenborn, Aimee Wilson, and Tyler Wilson.

The following substitutes were approved by the board: Amariah Fuller, Vanessa Kirkerm Michael Morrison, and Lisa Stump.

A concerned parent rose to speak to the board at the allotted time, and spoke with regards to the SED program being started at North Adams. The board tried to allay her concern about the program; however, a majority of the board members stated that they support going forward with the program.

Another citizen rose to speak, questioning the board about its plans regarding funding. As the real estate valuations for homeowners rose this year, he wished to know what the board planned to do with the extra funds. The board said they do not know how much more they will be receiving, if anything, and that such decisions are made in the January meetings. As of now, though, the board has not slated any additional funds to be applied anywhere specifically.

The final person to address the school board represented Basecamp in Peebles. Basecamp is an after-school program run at a local church. She thanked the board for adding the church as a buss stop on the regular route for the students who attend the program.

Paul Hannah is a content provider for The People’s Defender. He can be reached at (937) 544-2391.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

West Union Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com